strength in the difference

by Pastor Mark Jordan power-in-weakness

“That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” (2 Corinthians 12:10, NIV)

This week we explored what it means to be different with a living hope and genuine faith; why it’s important, even though sometimes we try not to be different by conforming; as well as how we can experience the glory of heaven right here and now, even while waiting for Jesus to be fully revealed. Then yesterday we looked at how God uses the struggles we face to purify us so His reflection can be seen in our lives. I want to revisit that idea for another day and think about how God’s strength is different for those who believe.

Today’s verse was written by the Apostle Paul as he confessed a time when he pleaded with God to remove a struggle in his life. God did not respond by saying that He would remove his struggle, but that His grace was sufficient for him in all times. That grace gave Paul strength to face anything and everything, and encouraged him to the point of a purely proven faith that his struggles become a delight, because God’s strength is made perfect in weakness.

How do you feel about being different? How does the process leave you? The wisdom and example that Paul shared encourages you to draw on God’s strength in the midst of your weaknesses. Let’s face it, your strength is limited. God’s is not. God’s strength is limitless, and as a result, can turn your greatest weakness into your greatest strength if you allow Him to work in and through you. This is precisely what Jesus wants to do in you…to make you #JesusStrong (to borrow from a hashtag we used a while back).

Will you let Jesus work in you?

Will you let his strength be made perfect in your weakness, making you #JesusStrong?

It will make you different.

I promise.

Prayer: Dear Lord, I see that in order for me to truly be different, I need you living in and through me. May I not see my struggles or weaknesses as anything other than an opportunity for your strength to surge in me, making me #JesusStrong. I want to be different, and I know that can only truly happen when I learn to delight in you, even during the times that might be hard for me. Help me to heed Paul’s wisdom, and follow your lead, and delighting in my weakness to I may experience the fullness of your strentgh revealed in my life. I ask this in Jesus’ name. Amen.