Hidden

by Pastor Mark Jordan

Where is God’s word in your life? In your heart? On the tip of your tongue? In an app on your smartphone or tablet? On a table? On a shelf? Is any of it dusty? Is it crisp, unbent, unused? Is it dog-eared, or perhaps a little tattered? It’s location and condition says a lot about how it gets incorporated into your daily living. 

Psalm 119:11 says, I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you” (NIV). I think this is a very important verse to consider and contemplate. God wants us to internalize His word, so it propels and protects us against our otherwise fleshly inclinations. 

I want to let you in on a pretty awesome miracle. Are you ready? When you take the time and energy to hide God’s word in your life, God reciprocates. Colossians 3:3 says that when you accept Jesus, you are hidden with Him in God. Since we know that Jesus is the living embodiment of God’s word, you have an eternal enmeshment taking place in your forever life — you in Christ, and Christ in you. Talk about propulsion and protection!

Where is God’s word in your life? I hope it is in your heart. If not, now is the time. Live it. Love it. Let it show you how life eternal can begin right here and right now.

Prayer: Dear Lord, I want your word hidden in my life so my life may be hidden in you. I need your propulsion, as well as your protection. Bless and keep me this day for you. I ask this in the name of Jesus. Amen.

 

Leave a comment